There are two fundamental types of groups available on the Crugo platform. These are what we call Open & Private groups. You can easily identify the type of group by looking at the icon visible before the groups name. Open groups have a # symbol before the name and private groups have a padlock icon

Both open and private groups can have the same functionality within them, the only real difference is that a private group is invite only. Now of course your entire Crugo network is invite only and completely secure, however adding a private group allows users to specify exactly who should have access to the group and content within. Users who are not invited to a private group will not be able to see any content from within the group or even know that the group exists. 

An open group is available for any of your network users to join and leave as they wish. For example, these are great for general company-wide discussions groups or even a staff holiday calendar as two basic examples. Any user in your Crugo network "excluding guest users" will have access to every open group from the moment they sign up, meaning they can search for the groups and the content within them and view historical data inside them. 

A group can be changed from open to private and private to open at any time by a user with the correct privilege level. To do this simply click the menu button in the top right corner of the group and then choose "Edit Group". 

Then click the circular tick box button next to the text that says "Make group invite only?

That's all there is to it.

If you have any further questions about open or private groups just get in touch with one of our friendly team members 😀.

Did this answer your question?